May 2016 Birchbox Review

For the dreamers…

As many of you know, I didn’t really wear make up for many many years, partially because I kept being told that a) I didn’t need make up and b) It was so refreshing to see a girl without make up. Um, thanks I guess. Last year I took matters into my own hands and decided to learn about beauty, I purchased some Real Techniques brushes, I started following beauty gurus and now I have subscribed to a beauty box. What better way to test products and learn what I like better, than with monthly samples! So here is my review of the May 2016 Birchbox or the UK & Ireland!

maybox

For the Dreamers Box

Okay, I have a love/hate relationship with this box. The actual, physical box itself. The concept was great, two lucky subscribers would have a “Hooray, you just won an awesome holiday” message hidden under the scratch-off coating on the top of the box. I like the idea, I do, but as I scratched the lid with a coin, with increasing aggressiveness, tiny flecks of foil covering my clothes, I couldn’t help but get irate. There was so much, and it was EVERYWHERE! Remember guys, sometimes less is more.

maybirchbox

Spectrum Collections Unicorn Tears Wonder Sponge

There was an option to pick a colour for this sponge, lilac or pink, I decided to go for the whatever you feel like option, as I am not particularly bothered about the colour of my sponges. Anyway, I loved the feel of this sponge, it’s latex free and is quite sturdy. I usually apply my foundation with a stippling brush, but I gave it a go. It is just like most blending sponges I find. The packaging was extremely cute though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Philip Kingsley PK Prep Polishing Balm

As a frizzy haired aficionado, I have used many different frizz reducing products over the years. I ditched my normal routine and tried this instead. I went for a shower, washed my hair with shampoo, no conditioner, I let my hair air dry for a bit, then I ran some of this through my hair and let it dry naturally. Once my hair was dry, I curled the ends with my wand. Just a quick once over. The second picture is my hair just after brushing and the third is three day hair after using this product, and I have been dealing with very humid weather here. Very impressed actually.

Kueshi Foot Care Cream

At the time of writing this, I am heavily pregnant, and by heavily, I mean the baby is due tomorrow, no really. We’ve had a heatwave in Ireland, which in combination with the fact that I am a waddling whale, my feet have been suffering. Before the remarkable Irish heat, I was using either Soap and Glory’s Heel Genius, or a pink peppercorn foot moisturising kit that was gifted to me at Christmas. Unfortunately, both of these options require socks and personally I thought, nah, too hot for socks. Last night my feet were burning, as if someone had made me walk over broken glass, then set fire to my soles. I opened the tube, to be greeted with an overwhelming smell of tee tree. I powered through and smothered my feet in the cream. I had to rinse my hands excessively to get the smell off. I felt like I had stepped into a bucket of TCP, it was so pungent. It may have been soothing, but the smell made me feel dizzy.

mayboxfoot

theBalm cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen

Lip stains, oh how I love thee. I also may have a thing for theBalm products. However I will not let that cloud my judgement! The lip stain is water based, which means there is extra time for blending. Oh, it’s a cheek stain too, but I’m so pale that I end up looking like a creepy porcelain doll brought back to life in an ill conceived voodoo ritual. Stains in general have a habit of drying out the lips, but shove on some lip balm and you should be fine. So handy for the days when lipstick feels like a bit of  a chore.

1527015

Vasanti Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

I was a bit apprehensive at first as a) I had never heard of the brand and b) I’m not keen on microbeads or microcrystalls from an environmental side. I have fairly good skin, I rarely have breakouts and I tend to exfoliate using kombuchi sponges and tools with more sensitive facewashes. I tried it anyway. It was just like any other scrub, my skin looked the same, but I felt like I had to rinse my face more than usual to get the product off. Not keen I must say. Definitely not worth the ecological impact.

mayboxface

Sarah Chapman Skinesis Spot Stickers

I actually had to look up how to use these as I had absolutely no idea. These are meant to be life savers when it comes to spots and blemishes. Pop on over a spot and stop it in it’s tracks. I don’t have any spots right now (yay pregnancy) but I do have some blocked pores (boo) so I thought I’d test them out on that. The instructions were not great to be honest, the stickers were very fiddly and may have caused me to shout profanities at them. No idea if it actually works because I couldn’t even get them to stay on.

mayspot

Jelly Pong Pong Glow Getter Highlighter

I got this as my free gift, as this was my first ever Birchbox. I found it a little weird to work with, but everybody’s got to start somewhere. After taking a look at its consistency and intensity I decided to dab this on before I blended my foundation. Putting it under was a great help, but I think I’d try strobing with it if I have any Summer events to go to, because everyone deserves to be an effervescent fairy every now and again!

There you go, my thoughts and feelings on the May 2016 Birchbox. I also did a wee unboxing video where I make many strange noises. Did you get the May Birchbox, or have you tried/want to try any of these products. Let me know, don’t be shy!

Leave a Reply

