Peanut Butter Popcorn Recipe

I am obsessed with Pinterest, I know that I spend far too long scrolling through pictures of beautiful food and my hypothetical dream mansion with a sunken fire pit, and a colour co-ordinated home office. I have mood boards for everything, it’s not even funny at this stage. So I decided to set myself a challenge. I won’t just pin to boards, oh no, I will step out of my comfort zone and actually do things. (I’ll still pin of course, a girl needs her fantasies after all) It doesn’t matter if I fail, it matters that I tried! NO FEAR!

danyboy.gif

I thought I’d start off easy, and I may have also had some overwhelming peanut butter cravings, but I digress. I came across this recipe for peanut butter popcorn.

peanutbutter

Just look at it, it’s gorgeous! I just want to lick it. Here is the recipe for this scrumptious snack, although I didn’t have corn syrup, I used Lyle’s Golden Syrup instead and it seemed just to work okay.

Peanut Butter Popcorn

  • 1 bag of microwave popcorn {or 1/4 cup popcorn if you use an air popper like I do}
  • 1/2 cup corn syrup
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4- 1/2 cups chocolate candy, M&M’s, etc.
  • 1/4 tsp salt, optional

Pop popcorn into a large bowl and throw away any unpopped kernels.

Combine syrup and peanut butter in a small saucepan. Over medium heat, melt and whisk gently until smooth. Mixture will begin to bubble up slightly- allow it to gently boil for about 3-4 minutes, then remove from heat. Add in salt and vanilla.

Pour over popcorn and gently stir to coat peanut butter mixture. Add in chocolate candy.

This was the end result. It was okay. I wasn’t too keen on the chocolate though, but I’m not a huge choco-fanatic at the best of times. So I got about halfway through and had to stop, it was too much.

bake6

I did make it a second time however, but without any chocolate whatsoever. I literally made a bucket of it, I then consumed the entire bucket.

IMAG0357_BURST001

I regret nothing.

pinpassfail

I’d like to think I passed this one, wouldn’t you say so folks?

Leave a Reply

