5 Things To Do Before Baby Is Born

Shave Your Hair Down There

Well, it’s up to you, you can either call the landscapers in, or you can grab the shears and convert you lady garden into a patio, with some decking or whatever. I had an analogy, it’s weird, but I think I made my point. I found it easier to get started in the second trimester, then it’s just a matter of maintenance. Why though? You ask. Well, first off, it’s a clean work space, which means less chance of bacteria and the like, thus reducing the risk of infection. I had to have an episiotomy, stitches would not have been pleasant if there was hair down there. Lastly, if you don’t do it, one of the nurses will do it for you. Some women I know opted to go for a jolly good waxing the week before their due dates, I’m not a fan of hot wax going anywhere near my vagina. I’ve had issues before, I’ll tell you about it sometime. However I can see why some would prefer that to awkwardly trying to balance in the shower/not drown in the bath, while trying not to slice your lady parts with your Gillette Venus Swirl razor. It’s practically an extreme sport.

ed

Pack Your Bag(s)

Pack your damn hospital bag. Even if you are the most disorganised person in the world, get it done! I found that it was easier to pack in the early days of the third trimester, when you’re not too top heavy that you’re falling over and the baby hasn’t got round to absorbing all of your brain cells yet. I split mine into a labour/delivery bag, and a hospital stay bag. We kept the hospital case by the front door and the labour bag went with us everywhere, just in case, it lived in the car for quite some time.

Massage For Mama

Go on, you deserve it, you know you do. Let’s face it, everything aches. Everything. Your calf muscles feel  like they’re being ripped away from your bones, you probably have swollen feet and don’t even get me started on the lower back pain. Oh no. Book yourself in for a prenatal massage. If nothing else, it will help relax you, between pregnancy hormones and pre-baby stress, you need a little self care.

spaq1

Organise a Phone Tree

This is very handy. The ginger man I live with made about three calls, and we just let the rest run its course. Especially since we were using mobiles/cells from the hospital and most of my relatives live in abroad, we basically organised people into teams, so that they could spread the word and we were able to chill and have some special time with baby. We did a Facebook announcement the following day, so that I wouldn’t have to deal with a barrage of “congratulations” messages.

call

Treat Yo’Self

To some post partum outfits. You’re going to be too tired/sore to do it after baby is born and it can also feel like a kick in the goolies. With a partially deflated belly, you might have some confidence/esteem issues. I know I did. Luckily some of your maternity clothes will still do the job for a few weeks after. If you are breastfeeding then you need to find clothes that will give allow ease of access to the ol’ chesticles. You can invest in nursing tops and such, but I found ost of them to be awkward and overly expensive for what they were. Loose tees, stretchy tanks and any kind of blouse was a godsend for me. Very very handy. Anything that makes the first stages of breast feeding easier is definitely worth it.

shop

Thanks for having a gander, let me know in the comments below if you agree/disagree and if there is anything else that pre-mums need to do before the fresh human comes and takes over every part of their lives?

Leave a Reply

