Best Halloween Movies For Kids

Halloween is my favourite holiday, ever since I was a kid myself, it resonated with me in a way that no other holiday could. Sure Christmas is great and you drown in chocolate at Easter, but nothing beats getting to dress up and get spooky! I used to watch so many creepy movies in October, some of them I’m pretty sure that I was far too young for. I’m looking at you Candyman! However, without further ad, here are my personal favourite top 5 spooky movies for kids.

Paranorman

ParaNorman-2012-poster

This film is brilliant. Paranorman is the tale of a misunderstood boy, who just so happens to speak to the dead, who tend to be more fun to be around than the living. He has to tackle zombie, ghosts, and, you know, adults, in order to save his town from a centuries old curse. Everything about this film is gold. It knows when to be spooky, it knows when to be funny and it hits every mark in its glorious stop motion animation! This was out in 2012 and it is the best Halloween movie to come out in recent years.

Hocus Pocus

DPAA010 ZN471

This film definitely put a spell on me, I can tell you. I’m pretty sure that I have watched this every single year since it came out. If you don’t already know, after three centuries, the infamous witches the Sanderson sisters, are resurrected on Halloween in Salem. They have one night to make their resurrection permanent and cause toil and trouble, their only obstacles are three children and a talking cat. Trust me, it’s worth the hype.

Casper

christina-ricci-casper

Casper the friendliest ghost, the friendliest ghost you know! I was and still am a huge fan of Christina Ricci, so this was always going to be a winner for me. The ghosts are funny, the three uncles are hilarious, even as a kid I was in stitches at their antics. Basically an expert on the paranormal and his daughter move into a haunted house, for obvious reasons and hilarity (and moral lessons) ensue. Deifinitely worth the watch. I’m also pretty convinced that’s where Backstreet’s Back was filmed…

The Witches

tw3

I was absolutely terrified of this film as a child! Even the thought of Anjelica Houston used to make my legs shake. Over the years though I realised that she’s amazing and I love her. The Witches is an adaptation of a Roald Dahl book, a lot of his stuff had creepy undertones now that I think about it… Anyway, a young boy stumbles upon a convention of witches and has to stop their wicked plans, even though he gets turned into a mouse. I’m getting goosebumps thinking  about it. Perfect for Halloween!

Scooby Doo

scooby-doo-live-action-movie-reboot.jpg

Oh yes, the least spooky of the bunch, but a great kid favourite, Scooby Doo! I really thought the live action movie did the cartoon justice. Quirky quips, super sleuthing and of course Shaggy and Scooby eating their way out of trouble! The Scooby Gang are reunited at an island resort in order to solve the mystery of Spooky Island, years after disbanding. This is an awesome film to dip your toes into spookiness as it’s closer to comedy than creepiness, but it is easier for the younger kids to enjoy.

 

So there you have it, my Top 5 Spooky Films For Kids at Halloween! What do you think of the list? Are there any Halloween movies that your kids enjoy? Let me know down below!

 

Leave a Reply

